Evan Longoria eBay stupidity

January 12, 2009 at 1:56 am | Posted in Upper Deck | 7 Comments

I’m sure that we’ve all seen our share of stupidity when it comes to cards being sold on eBay.  There are the classic tales of the guy who’s asking for $10,000 for his worthless cards from the late 1980s and early 1990s, the guy who wants $20,000 for a superfractor of the latest hyped rookie, and my personal favorite, the guy who will try to convince you that the card he’s selling is a 1/1 because the serial number matches the player’s jersey number, because it’s equal to the player’s number of career sacrifice flies, or something ridiculous like that.

I see a lot of these things almost everyday, but I haven’t written about any of them before now.  Tonight, I found something that really blew me away…

So as you know, I am actively building my collection of Evan Longoria cards.  The one that I’m currently chasing the hardest is a totally awesome card from the recently released 2008 Upper Deck Ultimate Collection.  It’s an autographed card with the autograph on a jumbo swatch of a game-used jersey.  The card design is great too, and even though Upper Deck recycled the same photo that they used on Longoria’s Goudey card, I think that it might be the nicest looking Longoria card that’s been produced to date.  Here’s an image of it from an eBay auction:

longoria_ultimate

So anyway, as you can imagine, I’m not the only person who thinks that this is an unbelievably great card.  With the card serial numbered to only 99 copies, and the high demand, the card has been selling for very high prices on eBay.  So far, it’s been going for anywhere between $133 and $255.  A gold parallel, numbered to 25, sold for $300.  The price has been trending downward in the last week, and I’m biding my time to try to get it for a lower price.

When I searched for the card on eBay tonight, I came across this auction, which is where I got the image that you see above.  The seller’s asking price is an astronomical $2,999.99 with a “Best Offer” available.  The reason?  You guessed it – the card is serial numbered 03/99 and Evan Longoria happens to wear jersey #3.  He plays third base too, so maybe the seller should ask for even more…

As I said, this really blows me away.  Sure, some collectors might value the card a little bit more because of the serial number.  But will anyone value it 20 times more than the market value of the card?  I see that the seller has already rejected one best offer, but I think he’ll be lucky to get $250 for the card.  To offer any more than that would require an uncanny combination of wealth and stupidity.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Some people need to be banned from eBay until they can pass a stupidity test.

    If I wrote about all of the Dawson moronocity I come across every day, I wouldn’t have time to do anything else.

    Some people will just never learn. And if you wait too long, people will start quoting BV in the auctions for these 🙂

  2. Yup, been there, seen that. I wrote a very similar post to this one a few weeks back.

  3. I really think these people need their heads examined. Could you imagine talking to these people in real life? Believe me when I tell you from experience, there are people dumb enough to buy anything for any price on eBay. This dumb though? I doubt it.

  4. High Buy-It-Now, is actually a common strategy used by lots of sellers. I see people from blowoutcards forums suggest it all the time. Put a huge BIN up with best offer. Usually the seller has no intention of getting the asking price or anywhere near it.

  5. It might be a “common” strategy, but it’s not a “good” strategy, especially when there are a bunch of copies of the same card being sold at the same time. I’m going to either bid on an auction, or make an offer to a seller who has a reasonable BIN price. When I see the $2,999.99, it tells me that the seller has a very unrealistic understanding of what the card is worth, and it’s not worth my time to try bargaining with him.

  6. But #3 is a 1/1! I mean he is #3! And he plays Third Base…wait a minute…#5/99 is a 1/1! He plays Third Base! He was born in 198-5! Oh my god! #85/99 is a 1/1! He was born in 1985! He had 85 RBIs in 2008!

    Give me a break.

  7. The insertion fee doesn’t change based on the price, and the final value fee is determined by final price (logically), so it costs the same to him if he lists it at $10k and it sells for $200 as if he listed it at $300 and it goes for $200.

    Some people might avoid bidding on it seeing the price, but like someone said, there are a lot of people that won’t.

    Make an low (but realistic) offer–the guy might not be as dumb as you think. He did draw some attention to the auction, since you blogged about it. And the worst he can do is say no–unless he’s got a blog too…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

