More on my Sweet Spot breaks

January 14, 2009 at 1:52 am | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 9 Comments

So last week, I posted a video of my breaks of one tin of 2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot and one tin of 2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot Classic.  I didn’t post scans of the cards that I pulled because I wanted people to be curious about what I pulled so that they’d watch the video.

But now, enough time has passed.  Here’s what I got…

From Sweet Spot:

  • Two base cards – Brandon Webb (#272/850) and Scott Rolen (#745/850).
  • Jim Edmonds relic card (SW-JE):

    sweet_spot_edmonds

  • Craig Biggio (future Hall of Famer) relic card (SW-BI):

    sweet_spot_biggio

    Unfortunately, this Biggio card demonstrates some of the quality problems that I’ve noticed with Sweet Spot.  Check out the white chip marks on the red border around the relic.  Also, the relic piece doesn’t completely fill the window, which is one of my relic card pet peeves.

  • Adam Lind “Sweet Beginnings” autographed mini-helmet rookie card:

    lind_sweet_spot

    I think that Lind is a candidate to have a breakthrough season for the Blue Jays this year.  I really like the idea of these cards, but unfortunately, there’s another quality issue – check out the chipping on the gray part of the card right under the helmet.

  • And here’s the card that I was so excited about – Tim Lincecum on-ball autograph #68/99:

    lincecum_sweet_spot

    You can see the fading on the autograph better in this scan than on the video.  It’s a shame that Upper Deck doesn’t use higher quality ball material for these cards.  Still, this is one of the top pulls from the product, so I can’t really complain.  I’ll be happy to have it in my collection unless I swing a deal with a certain blogger who’s a Lincecum super-collector…

From Sweet Spot Classic:

  • Two base cards – Ron Cey (#344/575) and Phil Rizzuto (#438/575).
  • Lou Brock relic card (CM-LB):

    brock_sweet_spot

  • Reggie Jackson relic card (CM-RJ3):

    reggie_sweet_spot

    I was thrilled to get a relic card of Reggie, but check out the swatch.  That looks like a Yankees batting practice jersey to me.  It’s certainly not from anything that the Yankees use in actual games.  The back of the card does say that the memorabilia “has been certified to us as having been used in an official Major League Baseball® game”, but I don’t see how that’s possible.  Any ideas?

  • And then I pulled my first cut autograph ever, from an actual ball signed by Enos Slaughter.  It’s serial numbered 75/80:

    slaughter_cut_auto

    Slaughter is a Hall of Fame outfielder who was best known for his years with the St. Louis Cardinals, but he also played for the Yankees, Kansas City A’s, and Milwaukee Braves.  He passed away in 2002 in Durham, North Carolina, very near where I live.  He’s best known for his “Mad Dash” in Game 7 of the 1946 World Series when he scored from first base on a double to win the series for the Cardinals.  It was awesome to pull a cut autograph, but I’ve decided that I’m going to sell this card.  According to Slaughter’s Wikipedia page, he is alleged to have tried to convince his teammates to strike to protest Jackie Robinson playing in the National League in 1947.  He also spiked Robinson in the leg on a play at first base later that year, which many people believe was racially motivated.  It’s apparently unknown if the strike story is accurate, and he claimed to not have “malicious intent” in the spiking, but even the possibility makes me a little bit uncomfortable about owning this card.

Despite some of the problems that I mentioned here, both Sweet Spot and Sweet Spot Classic have come down in price considerably over the last few months, and they’re a very good deal compared to other high-end products.  They’re much, much better than 2008 Sweet Spot, and apparently the brand is going away in 2009, so enjoy it while you can…

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That Slaughter card is amazing. Excellent pull!

  2. You put me in a tough position with that Member’s Only Virtual Reality card. But I’ll lay off it 🙂 If I feel really froggy I might go after the GEM MINT 10 one that’s going for $12 more. I figure, if YOU haven’t been able to pick one up then it’s a really tough find. I have about 4 hours to think about it.

  3. Oh and if you’re going after that one, odds are I’ll be going after the other two Member’s Only cards he’s selling. Unless you need one of those. Let me know.

  4. As a Durhamite myself, I remember when he died. Nice pulls, on both of them. The Mojo gods were looking in on you that day.

    As a serious autograph hound, the only leather that holds up with signatures are OMLB balls. The ones that UD uses that fades are the ROLB balls you see sold in Walmart. Shame on UD for using inferior products and they should know what works and doesn’t since the also run UD memorabilia.

    -Mike
    badwax

  5. I like this set a lot. I bought two 2007 Sweet Spot tins the other day.

  6. Great box but that Timmy signature is pretty half-assed.

  7. And to prove what a collecting retard I am, I’d be 1000 times more excited about pulling that Reggie jersey card, than the Slaughter… even if the Reggie swatch looks like it was clipped from a Raiders jersey.

  8. That Reggie cloth could have been used in an official major league game, but it could have been something like a mesh undershirt, etc. I’d be afraid of the “etc”

  9. nice pulls! i pulled a bill dickey cut auto from legendary cuts about 3 years ago. i knew i would sell it, but it took me almost 3 years to do so. those types of pulls are hard for me to part with.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

