My bad luck with group breaks continues

January 21, 2009 at 11:32 am | Posted in Random | 14 Comments

I really like the concept of group breaks.  For a lot less than what you would pay for a whole box or case, you can buy a slot in a group break and get all of the cards for one team.  There’s a chance that you can get a really good hit for a really low cost.  And there’s a chance that you can get absolutely nothing, which is what always happens to me.  I’ve participated in three group breaks so far, and check out my luck:

  • First was a 2005 Playoff Absolute Memorabilia baseball group box break on Sports Cards Uncensored back in September.  I had the Indians and Nationals in the break, and I got absolutely nothing.
  • I recently decided to participate in a 2-box group break of 2007 Playoff National Treasures football on Sports Cards Uncensored.  I’m not really a football card collector, but I had seen breaks of this product on YouTube with some amazing results.  My teams were the Chiefs and Saints, and again, I got absolutely nothing.
  • And of course, there’s the 2008 Upper Deck Heroes baseball group case break from Jawdy’s Basement that I told you about a couple of weeks ago.  I wound up getting the Phillies.  I watched the results yesterday, and all that I got were a ton of base cards (which I’m donating to Jawdy and his son) and some serial numbered parallel cards.  No autographs or game-used cards at all.

As much as I like group breaks, I think that I might have to retire from them.  Instead of gambling, I think I’m better off just buying boxes myself where I get to keep all of the cards.  What does everyone else think of group breaks?  Is your luck better than mine or just as bad?

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve never participated in a group break before, simply for the reason that I’m only interested in Twins cards, and, quite frankly, Twins cards are very sparse in sets–especially when it comes to hits.

  2. I love group breaks…I think I’ve participated in about 7 of them on SCU and I’ve been fortunate to get 5 jersey or autos out of those breaks..nothing “big” though. If it’s not a super expensive break, I like to buy a couple extra spots to really increase my chances of getting hits. Of course I could probably just go buy the card I want on eBay by then…but where is the fun in that?

  3. I am anxioust to participate in a group break, I am just waiting on the right opportunity – other than the one you ran for Sweet Spot.

    I sort of know the odds going in so my expectations would be realistic.

  4. Great idea on retiring. I don’t understand the big fuss about group breaks but they have single handedly destroyed YouTube now that every makes 10 videos per day asking what group break to do.

  5. If I were you I would stay away!! Look at how well you have done with your personal box breaks. I’m still jealous of the Sweet Spot stuff you pulled last week and I don’t even collect modern cards.

  6. Speaking for John here, we participated in a group break a couple of months back. I forget the product, but in the first pack he gets a Justin Morneau game-used jersey! I had the O’s and got a Erik Bedard on-card auto. Not bad but nothing special either.

  7. I did the same group break with the 2005 Prime Cuts and ended up getting the hit with the Gary Carter quad GU, which I ended up selling on eBay to make most of my money back. I was also in on the 2008 Prime Cuts on SCU and got only a damaged, Nolan Ryan base. At least I got something out of both breaks over nothing.

  8. Topher, you and I should be friends. As Chris alluded to earlier I’m a huge Twinkies fan. I did one group break so far and did manage to pull a SPX Joe “Sideburns” Mauer jersey card, but that was it. I spent $30 and could have purchased that card for $2 on eBay. I understand the allure of group breaks but most people leave empty handed; especially if you are hoping for Nats cards like our friend Dave. Zimmerman may be the only Nat worthy of a high end card.

  9. I think the problem is that you’re getting into the wrong kind of group breaks. When you get into breaks where you’re saddled with a specific team, there always going to be a big chance you’re coming away empty handed. My advice would be to find group breaks that are “by hit” instead of “by team”.

    You might check out http://www.groupcasebreaks.com and see what they have there. I know they try to have a few open at all times. Maybe something there will give you better results.

  10. Dave – The Jawdy’s Heroes break was our first and despite having the underachieving Mets we’ll probably do it again. Honestly, I wasn’t expecting much but the sheer entertainment value was great (his kid cracks me up). A lot of that is driven by the low cost of the break. I could have easily spent that money on a handful of hobby packs and come away with even less. Doubt I’ll be signing Isaac up for any high dollar breaks but I’ll jump on any baseball break for Jawdy just for kicks. How about that guy who had the Yankees AND the Red Sox? Talk about cleaning up!

  11. I’ve often thought about it, but for me a lot of the fun is actually opening the product myself. If I want to pay someone to open my product for me – I might as well just buy singles. At least then I know what I am getting.

    I guess the idea of a group break is to get in on a product you couldn’t otherwise afford, but singles offer the same opportunity (tons of singles from high end products are dirt cheap) without the chance of getting skunked.

    I did get in on the $5 low end group break a while back, but that was more curiosity than anything else. Its $5, more for a chance of picking up some older cards I wouldn’t have run into otherwise.

  12. dkwilson – I like your idea about group breaks that are “by hit” instead of “by team”. I’m wary of groupcasebreaks.com though. I like to actually watch the break on video when I’ve put some money down.

    chasingmoss – after I thought about it more, I agree with you. Jawdy’s breaks with Number1Dragonoid are so fun that I think I’ll join more of his group breaks. My luck is bound to change and they make it a lot of fun. I don’t think I’ll join anyone else’s group breaks for now.

  13. chasingmoss – thanks so much for the compliment. My son FREAKS OUT with baseball cards and you can hear his enthusiasm in the vids…but you have no idea how he is when the camera goes off. He rearranges his card table three times a week, re shuffles his collection, picks new favorite players…just like we did when we were NINE!!!
    DAVE – again bro. I can’t thank you enough. I am sorry you got BURNED BY THE PHILLIES AGAIN!!!! LOL. I hope to pull a 1/1 for you sometime even though it still can’t pay you back for the job you do here!!!! THANK YOU!!

  14. Dave, keep watching my blog. I imagine I’ll do a case break “by hit” before long. I’ve done them in the past on various sites but haven’t done one in quite awhile and I’m getting the itch to do another one. Just need to find the right product. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

