The awesomest rookie card ever!

January 31, 2009 at 2:24 am | Posted in Baseball, My Cards, Topps | 4 Comments

I’ve never been a Jason Giambi fan.  I didn’t like him during his original stint with the A’s, I liked him even less when he signed with the Yankees, and I absolutely despised him when I found out that he was a steroid user.  But when I read about his rookie card in this post on Bad Wax recently, I immediately wanted to own the card.  I went straight to eBay and I was able to buy a PSA 10 graded copy of the card for only $8.  So, you might be asking yourself, why would I want to own Jason Giambi’s rookie card so badly?  In this case, the picture speaks louder than any words possibly could:

giambi_psa10

Yes, folks, that is what Jason Giambi looked like in 1991!  Before he became a disgusting steroid monster, he was the scrawny 20-year old kid that you see on this card.  If you look closely enough, you can see the remnants of teenage acne on his face.  He looks like someone whose ass even I would be able to kick!  Heck, Steve Urkel might be able to take him in a fight.  I can’t stop myself from laughing when I look at this card and think about what Giambi turned himself into…

The back of the card reveals that Giambi was 6’2″ and weighed 195 pounds.  According to ESPN, he’s now 6’3″ and 240 pounds.  It’s amazing what a steady diet of steroids and HGH can do for a body.  It’s also interesting that he was a third baseman for Long Beach State at the time, which was the same position that Evan Longoria would occupy 15 years later.  Giambi was in his sophomore year in 1991, and while he hit .407 that year, he only hit 3 home runs with 54 RBI.  One year later, he was the second round pick of the A’s and the rest is history…

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve had this card for quite some time and never thought of it as valuable or anything. It’s surprising to that it even goes for 8 bucks (yeah, yeah, I know gem mint 10).

    I can’t get mad at Giambi, especially since he’s one of the few who admitted what he did (sort of, kind of). He just makes me sad. And that’s saying something since I dislike almost anyone in navy pinstripes.

    Now that he’s with the A’s, I’m going to actually root for him.

  2. I actually have a 1991 USA Topps Stadium card of him autographed. I met him when he was with the A’s before his MVP year when McGwire was top dog.

  3. I remember when the A’s were perennial contenders around the turn of the century, there was a lot of talk about which (if any) of their budding superstars they would keep. Jason Giambi? Miguel Tejada? Eric Chavez? Mulder, Hudson, Zito? I always felt like Chavez was the least valuable of the hitters and was amazed Oakland targeted him with a long term deal, letting G and T walk. Looking back I wonder how much of that was steroid knowledge/suspicion…

  4. That is amazing…but you know what? 20 years from now, who is going to remember Jason Giambi? Steroids made him a lot of money but got him NOWHERE in terms of his legacy. Even if he was NOT on the juice he would not smell the HOF.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

