Massive Trade Post – Part 1

February 1, 2009 at 12:57 am | Posted in Blogs, Trades | 1 Comment

I’ve fallen ridiculously behind in posting about recent card trades that I’ve made.  So, instead of writing individual posts about each trade, I’m going to consolidate it all into two posts.  Here it goes…

1. Almost a month ago, I worked out a trade with Chris from Stale Gum.  I sent 29 cards from 2008 Goudey that he needed (13 base, 15 short prints, and 1 Hit Parade of Champions) and he sent the following to me:

  • Two Rays Gold Parallels from 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights: Reid Brignac (#0743/2008 ) and Ben Zobrist (#1553/2008 )
  • 2008 Upper Deck Heroes black parallel of B.J. Upton
  • 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights Dioner Navarro
  • 2008 Topps Heritage refractor of Eric Byrnes (#414/559) for my Heritage refractor collection
  • Six 2008 Goudey red back mini’s: Kelly Johnson (12), Sparky Anderson (46), Josh Willingham (79), Andruw Jones (98), Albert Pujols 1936 Black & White (251), and Chase Utley Sport Royalty (291)
  • 2008 Topps Allen & Ginter jersey relic of Carl Crawford (AGR-CC1)
  • 2008 Topps Updates & Highlights Dioner Navarro Event-worn All Star jersey card:

    navarro_as_jersey

    Now I own 2 of the 3 Rays All Star jersey cards; I still need Scott Kazmir…

  • And a card that had me cracking up when I first saw it, a 1/1 Chris Harris autograph on a 1999 Fleer Tradition Aaron Ledesma card:

    harris_auto_front

    harris_auto_back

    Come on Chris, what’s up with the sticker autograph?  I want it on-card!

2. A few weeks ago, Jordan (a.k.a. Jawdy) from Jawdy’s Basement sent a bunch of cards that I needed for sets that I’m building.  He sent one of the last 2008 Topps Heritage cards that I needed (Ross Detwiler), three 2008 Topps Heritage refractors (Joe Mauer, Delmon Young, and Adrian Gonzalez), two 2008 Topps Chrome (Alfonso Soriano and Tim Lincecum), four 2008 Bowman prospect cards, 13 2008 Bowman Chrome prospect cards, and ten 2008 Topps Finest cards.  All of the cards really helped to put a dent in these sets for me.  In return, I sent a few cards from his want lists, a bunch of Phillies, and some Elijah Dukes cards for his son, Elijah.  I just hope that he doesn’t try to emulate Elijah Dukes’ off-field behavior.

3. Topher from the great new blog Crackin Wax also helped me to pare down my want lists for a few sets by sending seven Topps Heritage High Numbers cards, one Topps Chrome, and 17 Topps Finest cards.  I’m still working on combing through my collection to look for Twins cards that he might need.  I really appreciate his patience.  Unfortunately, my collection is more disorganized than you can possibly imagine, and it takes a while for me to complete trades that aren’t for specific cards.

4. Rob from Voice of the Collector sent 6 cards from my want lists: 3 from 2008-09 Upper Deck Legends Masterpieces hockey and 3 from 2008 Topps Stadium Club baseball.  I sent him 6 Topps Updates & Highlights cards in return, and I threw in the Ron Santo & Aramis Ramirez dual relic card from SP Legendary Cuts that I knew that Rob liked.  Rob thoughtfully included a few extra cards in his package to me too.  He sent a B.J. Upton Xponential insert from Upper Deck X, two Prince Fielder cards (although I’ve given up on actively collecting Prince), and an awesome autograph card of Tuomo Ruutu of the Carolina Hurricanes.  He came to the Canes from a trade with Chicago last season, and he has emerged as one of their top forwards and a fan favorite:

tuomo_ruutu_auto

5. The next trade was from Tony and his son Isaac, two huge Cardinals fans who I’ve traded with before.  I recommend checking out their new blog, Ike’s Cards.  They helped me out a ton by sending 44 Topps Updates & Highlights cards from my want list, and 29 Topps Heritage High Numbers (21 regular green backs, 5 black backs, 2 Flashback inserts, and 1 Then & Now insert).  There’s a package containing some cards from their want lists, a bunch of Cardinals, and a few cards of Ryan Braun and Grady Sizemore, who are two non-Cardinals that Isaac likes, in the hands of the U.S. postal service on its way to them now.

6. Marie from A Cardboard Problem awesomely sent 29 base cards from 2008 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts, leaving me with only 2 that I still need to complete the set.  She also sent a Don Mattingly Yankee Stadium Legacy card that I needed (#5467).  I now own 70 of the 187 Mattingly Yankee Stadium Legacy cards.  In return, I sent Marie some of my Mattingly Yankee Stadium Legacy doubles and sent some of my non-Mattingly Yankee Stadium Legacy cards that she needed in exchange for some of her doubles.

7. Greg from Night Owl Cards sent 26 Topps Updates & Highlights cards and 8 Topps Heritage High Numbers cards from my want list.  He also included 4 Bowman Chrome cards, and some “old school” Devil Rays from 1998, 2000, 2002, and 2003 Topps.  I wasn’t collecting in those years, and I have to say that I’m glad I missed 2002 Topps with its ugly yellow borders.  2003 Topps, on the other hand, is pretty cool with its blue borders.  Lastly, he threw in a Carl Crawford “authentic game-worn uniform” card from 2008 Topps Series 2.  I actually have another copy of this card with a white uniform piece, but I think the card looks better with this gray road uniform piece:

crawford_topps_gw

I’m working on putting together a package of Dodgers cards for Greg.

8. I also made my first trade with Brian from 30-year old Cardboard.  Brian sent 8 Topps Updates & Highlights cards from my want list in exchange for 3 extra 1983 Topps Super Veteran cards that I had.  Brian is trying to put together a set of all of the 1983 Super Veterans.

So that’s the first half – up next is Part 2 with the details of 8 more card trades.  You can see that I’ve been busy, and so has the U.S. postal service!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yeah, that’s busy all right. I like seeing other collectors getting a bunch of cards they like.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

