2009 Fantasy Baseball

February 3, 2009 at 10:49 pm | Posted in Fantasy Baseball | 18 Comments

I’ve been planning to start a fantasy baseball league for card bloggers since last September.  With pitchers and catchers reporting to spring training in only a week and a half, I think the time is right to start with the initial preparations.  I’ll also be participating in the league that Marie and Sooz from A Cardboard Problem are starting, but there are a couple of key differences between their league and the one that I’m starting.  First, my league will be completely free.  I’ve never played in a league that had a monetary or card reward, and I figure that with the economy being what it is, it’s better to make it free.  Second, Marie and Sooz’s league will use rotisserie scoring, and mine will be head-to-head.  If you’ll be playing in their league, you’re welcome to join mine as well.

Here’s how it will be set up:

  • It’ll be a traditional 5×5 scoring league, meaning that the statistical categories will be: Batting Average, Home Runs, RBI, Runs, Stolen Bases, Wins, Strikeouts, ERA, WHIP, and Saves.
  • The format will be head-to-head, meaning that every week, each team will play directly against another team and they’ll get a win or loss in each of the statistical categories.
  • There will be 10 teams in the league.
  • The player universe will be all of MLB (not just A.L. or N.L.)
  • Each team will have a 25-man roster (C,1B,2B,SS,3B,CI,MI,OF,OF,OF,OF,OF,UTIL, 9 pitchers, 3 bench slots, and 2 DL slots).
  • There will be a live online draft.
  • The league will be hosted by ESPN.  I’ve been playing fantasy baseball on ESPN.com since 2000, and they’ve always provided a high quality service.

You can leave a comment on this post if you’re interested, and then I’ll send you an invitation after I create the league.  I’ll give preference to bloggers over readers, just because most bloggers are familiar with each other’s blogs, and it’ll be easier to keep track of who all of the owners are if they’re fellow bloggers.  I’ll post the standings on my blog throughout the season, and we can all enjoy talking smack to each other.  I think it’ll be a lot of fun!

If you are interested, I’d ask the following:

  • Attend the live draft.  This is by far the most important thing to do in order to have a successful season.  I don’t know exactly when it will be right now, except that it’ll be sometime towards the end of March.  Once the league is filled, I’ll seek input from everyone on a good date and time.  After the date and time are decided, if you cannot attend the draft, let me know and I’ll find someone else to take your place in the league.
  • Keep up with your team throughout the year.  It seems that in every league that I play in, there are always 1 or 2 guys who stop actively managing their team in April, and then they lose every game late in the year.  This hurts the integrity of the league.  If a player goes on the D.L., take him out of your lineup.  If a guy is hitting .150 in June, cut him.  Even if you get off to a bad start, you can still come back.  In my first year of playing fantasy baseball, my team had the worst record in the league at the All Star break, and then they came back to make the playoffs.  If you make an effort, hope is never lost!

Whether you’ve been winning fantasy baseball championships for years or it’s your first time playing, I think it’ll be fun for everyone.  So let’s get this started.  I can’t wait for the season to start!

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hey Dave…I’ve been the Commish of my Football league for 16 years and have NEVER played fantasy baseball…just a WHOLE LOT of Strat-O-Matic since the 70’s….I think I would like to give it a shot finally…since it’s free and hosted by ESPN I am assuming the rules are clear and concise. Can you send me a link to some additional info? In the meantime – please put me down for a team if there is room. Thanks!!!

  2. Im in. Let me know.

  3. Hey Dave, I’d like to get in on this.
    Thanks a lot for organizing it.
    Jim

  4. I love fantasy baseball…but I have to stay true to my running league. I wish you all the best. Post updates on the draft!

  5. if its a week night draft – I am in – unfortunately, i cannot miss work on sundays to draft, but if it was a weekday, i can take some time off… this would be my 4th league, and ive played for about 4 years, i commish one myself, so i can be relied on

  6. I’m in bud… hopefully a late night draft or sunday one?

    Captain Canuck
    Waxaholic

  7. I’d like to be in your league. All I do now is play with a bunch of people randomly picked by Yahoo. It kind of sucks. A blogger league would be great.

  8. Way to steal my idea Dave 🙂
    See my post at 4:12pm today.

    I can’t commit to a live draft or I’d be in.

    For anyone wanting a list draft and shorter roster mine will be on MLB. ESPN’s is great but you have to be REALLY committed.

  9. Count me in! I prefer head-to-head anyway

  10. I’m in too if there is a spot left. I love head to head leagues.

  11. I’ve never played before, but I think I might like to get in on this one. I’m on the interweb all day at work anyway, so this’ll give me something else to do 🙂

    Maybe everybody can throw in some cards as a final prize to make it a little more interesting and hopefully keep all 10 teams involved fully. What do you think?

  12. Sign me up if you have room. I play Fantasy Baseball every year!

    -John (sacbunt)

  13. Dave – if there is any spots left count me in. I want to do a fantasy baseball thing through my blog, but I’m definatly not opposed to playing in two leagues.

  14. Got your cards – thanks for the trade….
    if there is room i would like to participate in your league !!!!
    thanks
    victor

  15. i might give it a shot! put me in

  16. Thanks for all the interest, guys! It looks like it’s still too early to start the league on ESPN’s fantasy site. I’ll email you all when I’m able to start the league.

  17. Please, please, please let me in!!! I PunkRockPaint needs a team. I never heard back from Cardboard Problem… Once again, PLEASE let me in.

    Did I say please.

    I promise to make “cards” for all the players I draft.

    Um… please. Email me at travis@punkrockpaint.com

    Thank you for your consideration.

  18. Hey Dave If you still have Room, Count me in


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

