An elusive Don Mattingly card is found

February 8, 2009 at 6:03 pm | Posted in My Cards | 1 Comment

It feels very, very good to announce that I have finally succeeded in tracking down a Don Mattingly card that has been elusive to me for many years, a 1995 phone card made by Classic:

mattingly_phone_card

I first found out about this card sometime in the summer of 2003 when I was looking for Mattingly cards that I didn’t have on eBay.  I thought that it would be a cool addition to my collection, so I bid $10, which was the face value of the phone card.  The card ended up selling for about twice that amount.  Anyway, I figured that I’d be able to find another one sooner or later…

Fast forward to January of 2009 and this card remained one of the eight Don Mattingly cards from his playing career that I still did not have in my collection.  I had been searching for the card every time that I looked for Mattingly cards on eBay since 2003.  I searched for it almost every day in 2008 and couldn’t find it anywhere.  Finally, I saw it listed on eBay in January, and I won it for $23.07 on January 31.  I am absolutely elated to add this card to my collection.  Only 7 more to go!

This is one of two Don Mattingly phone cards that were made.  The other one was produced by Upper Deck for the GTS phone company in 1995.  The Upper Deck / GTS phone card didn’t have an assigned dollar value; it was a 15-minute card.  I was able to obtain that one from an online store that specializes in old phone cards about six months ago.

The two phone cards are definitely a throwback to the 1990s when very few people had cell phones.  I remember buying phone cards in stores so that I could make long distance calls back home when I was in college.  Back then, the other alternatives included 10-10-321 and the other assorted “10-10” numbers, 1-800-COLLECT, and 1-800-CALL-ATT.  Anyone remember the days when commercials for those were flooding the television airwaves non-stop?

Anyway, I won’t be able to use my Classic phone card to make a call.  It expired on 12/31/96…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nice find Dave. I took Isaac to a local show this afternoon and found a few calling cards in the 10 cent box! No one I can remember and certainly no Mattingly’s.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

