February 7, 2004

February 8, 2009 at 12:53 am | Posted in Personal | 12 Comments

This post is not related to baseball cards at all, so if you’re only interested in cards, you can move on.  Today is the five-year anniversary of a very important day for me…

February 7, 2004 began like any other Saturday.  I was 24 years old, I had a good job, a nice car, and my own apartment.  I had been living in North Carolina for almost three years.  I was looking forward to the start of the upcoming baseball season, and excited about seeing Tino Martinez and Jose Cruz, Jr. in Devil Rays uniforms.  My brother was in the army, serving in Iraq, and my thoughts were constantly with him, hoping that he’d return home safely (and he did, a few months later).  Like most single guys, I spent most of my free time thinking about girls, trying to figure out how to meet them and convince them to date me.  I hadn’t had much luck with that lately.

Actually, I hadn’t had much dating luck at all since moving to North Carolina.  I hadn’t had a serious relationship since college.  I had a bunch of first dates, some second dates, and even a few third dates, but not much after that.  A couple of years earlier, I even tried match.com.  I posted a profile and actually met a few girls from it, but nothing worked out.  So I stopped using it, but left my profile up.  I had long forgotten about match.com when on January 18, I surprisingly received an email from a girl who had seen my profile from the site.  She sounded interesting, and I decided to write back to her, but I was tired and figured that I’d wait until the next day…

Well, I’ve always been good at putting things off.  I got busy and forgot about the email.  More than two weeks later, on February 2, I remembered about it, and I immediately wrote back to the girl.  I apologized for waiting so long to write and let her know that I was interested and wanted to get to know her.  I had to pay for a “membership” to match.com in order to send the email, and I asked her to give me her real email address or an IM name so that we could communicate outside of match.com and I could cancel within the trial period so that I wouldn’t be billed.  She responded with her IM name, and we chatted the next day, on February 3.  It went well enough that she gave me her phone number.

Of course, I had to play it cool, so I waited 4 days, until Saturday February 7, to call her.  We had a great conversation, and she laughed at my dumb jokes, which was a very good sign.  I had called at about 4:00 PM and we talked for about two hours before I started to get hungry for dinner.  I took a chance and asked if she wanted to meet me for dinner.  She said yes, and we made plans to meet at Chico’s Mexican restaurant, which was conveniently located between our apartments.  It turned out that we only lived about a mile apart from each other.

I arrived at the restaurant a few minutes before she did and waited outside the front door.  I was a little nervous because I hadn’t seen her picture.  It would’ve been pretty awkward if she wasn’t attractive.  I’ll never forget the moment that I first saw her.  She looked beautiful, and she was smiling and walking towards me with her arms extended to give me a hug.  I froze the image like a snapshot in my head.  I had a feeling that this was a moment that I’d remember for a very long time…

We walked into the restaurant together and made some small talk.  We sat down at the bar while we waited for a table.  She mentioned that I looked different than my picture, since I was wearing a hat in the picture and I wasn’t wearing one that night.  I was worried that this was a bad sign.  But she assured me that I had nothing to worry about.  When we sat down to eat, I had a burrito with refried beans and rice.  She had tacos with just rice; she didn’t like beans.  I thought it was odd that anyone wouldn’t like beans.  We had a good conversation over dinner.  I had a fake $1 billion bill in my wallet and gave it to the waitress as a tip.  The waitress thought it was hilarious.  I told her to keep it since I had more at home.  A few years later, after we were married, my wife and I had the same waitress at a different restaurant.  The funny thing was that she was the one who remembered us because of the $1 billion bill.  She told us that she had it hanging on her bedroom wall ever since then, and she was thrilled to learn that it had been our first date and that we were now married.

After dinner, I wanted the date to continue.  I awkwardly asked if she wanted to go to a bar to have a drink even though I knew that neither of us were big drinkers.  She suggested that we see a movie instead.  We went to see Along Came Polly, a chick flick comedy with Ben Stiller and Jennifer Aniston.  I saved my ticket stub because I thought that if a relationship developed with this girl, it would be pretty cool to have the ticket stub from our first date.  I still have it today.  Anyway, after the movie, the night ended with a hug and we went our separate ways.

I wondered how long I should wait before calling her again.  I was surprised when she called me the very next day.  At that point I knew that she was still interested in me after our first date.  We made plans for our second date, and the rest is history…

We started out seeing each other a few times per week, then almost every day, and before long we were together every single day.  We met each other’s friends and family, took some trips together, adopted a cat together (she lived with Rebecca before we moved in together), and our relationship grew.  By the summer of 2004, I asked if she’d be interested in moving in with me when I bought a house in 2005.  I reasoned that I’d be able to afford a nicer house if she could help pay for it.  We bought our house in May 2005, and I proposed a few days before we moved in.  I used the proposal idea from the first scene in the movie Meet the Parents.  I came into her classroom and had all of the kids hold up letters that spelled out “Will you marry me?”  Unlike the movie, it worked perfectly for me, and she said yes.  Little did I know that she had started wedding planning with her mom even before I proposed.  It wasn’t long before we had our wedding date – July 2, 2006.

Our anniversaries are easy to remember because of Carlton Fisk.  He wore #27 (2/7/04) with the Red Sox and #72 (7/2/06) with the White Sox.

Anyway, it’s hard to believe that it’s been five years already.  The last five years have been, without a doubt, the happiest five years of my life.  I couldn’t love anyone more, or have a better life partner, than my wife Rebecca.  My highest priority is to make her smile, make her laugh, and make her as happy as possible.  I can’t wait until we become parents, and I know that she’ll be the best mom in the world.

wedding

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nice story. It was twenty years ago last weekend that I met my wife for the first time. We got married in less than a year. She doesn’t get baseball cards but she’s supportive.

    May you have many more years of love. It gets better.

  2. That is a great story Dave. Here’s to 50 more years together.

  3. That’s awesome. There are certain things you remember about the person you’re with.

    I had a post up on match or eHarmony, something like that, and the first day I signed up it told that out of the millions of users on it no one was compatible with me. Like you, I had moved to a new place and didn’t know many people.

    I ended up meeting my boyfriend at a poker game in Atlantic City. Three months later, we moved in together. Three years later, we’re still here and as happy as ever.

    I knew he was a keeper because he called me the next day after the first date. There was no waiting around anxiously wondering if I should make a move.

    Just don’t tell him that I could never remember our anniversary.

  4. That’s an awesome story. It also sounds strangely familiar. I met Kim though an AOL chatroom (that’s not the whole story but I’ll leave out the complicated details). We lived mere minutes from each other and we met one day and we’ve been together ever since.

  5. great story dave!

  6. It’s funny – we spend all this money on packs and boxes of cards hoping to pull something remotely rare – and look what happened – you pulled your 1/1 five years ago. WHAT ARE YOU STILL SEARCHING FOR???

  7. Congratulations on 5 years!!! I wish you both many more to come!!

  8. Cograts on the big whole hand of years. Im still working on number 1, so lets hope I have as much love and success with my wife as you do with yours.

  9. You guys look great together. My wife and I also met on the internet and this will be our 11th year of marriage and 13 years together.

    Congrats

  10. Met my wife via the Myspace when i lost my job over 4 years ago – if i hadnt got drunk and said something to my boss i should not have, i would not have been so bored to go lady hunting via the space – we got married in september. love it

  11. You are one lucky guy. I hope your luck holds out as long as mine. My wife and I are coming up on 29 years.

  12. That is one great story, Dave. It’s nice to see a guys perspective on dating and what not. Great story for any chick to read, even if you didn’t propose with baseball cards mixed in it 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

