The best deal in the hobby right now

February 10, 2009 at 11:59 pm | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck, Video | 15 Comments

I recently opened the hobby box of 2007 Upper Deck SP Rookie Edition baseball cards that I got for free with my order from Dave & Adam’s Card World in December.  Unfortunately, the promotion that offered the free hobby box ended a while ago, but you can still find these boxes for about $25 each, which in my opinion is the best deal in the hobby right now.  2007 SP Rookie Edition is somehow overlooked, but it features nice base cards, several different styles of rookie cards based on past Upper Deck SP designs (very similar to 2008 Timelines), and two autographs per box.  The price is only a little bit higher than a retail blaster, but the value is much greater than what you’ll find in any blaster.

On top of that, the 2007 rookie class turned out to be very impressive.  Here are some of the big names:

  • Ryan Braun
  • Alex Gordon
  • Phil Hughes
  • Akinori Iwamura
  • Tim Lincecum
  • Daisuke Matsuzaka
  • Dustin Pedroia
  • Hunter Pence
  • Troy Tulowitzki
  • Delmon Young

Here’s my video box break for your viewing pleasure:

Here’s the breakdown of what I got:

  • 54 base cards (out of 100 in the set).  If you pick up two boxes of this product, you should be pretty close to the full base set.  Here’s a scan of the Albert Pujols base card in honor of Marie from A Cardboard Problem:

    pujols_sp_base

  • 21 base rookie cards (out of 42).  For some reason, the scan is much darker than the actual card, but here’s Dice-K:

    dicek_sp_rookie

  • 7 “1993 SP Rookie” cards (out of 50).  Here’s Ryan Braun:

    braun_93_sp

  • 7 “1995 SP Rookie” cards (out of 42).  Here’s the other, much less popular Ryan Braun:

    rbraun_95_sp

  • 21 “1996 SP Rookie” cards (out of 50).  Here’s Akinori Iwamura:

    iwamura_96_sp

  • 2 autograph cards – one that’s pretty worthless (Sean Henn, a former Yankees prospect who has a 7.56 career major league ERA) and one that was really great, Josh Hamilton:

    hamilton_sp_auto

That’s the second Josh Hamilton autograph that I’ve pulled.  The other was from 2007 Masterpieces.  It definitely makes a nice addition to my collection!

I certainly can’t complain about a hobby box that I got for free, but even if I had paid $25 for it, I would’ve been very happy.  In all, I got 110 cards featuring stars and 2007 rookies, plus two autographs.  I’d highly recommend this product.  If you like 2008 Timelines, you’d definitely like 2007 SP Rookie Edition too.  I can’t think of anything that is a better deal in the hobby right now.  With the economy the way that it is, it might make sense for collectors to hold off on the new 2009 products and pick up a very undervalued product like this from the recent past.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A good tip and refreshing change from scads of overpriced product.

  2. What was the other auto?

  3. Sooz – I said it in the post – it was Sean Henn.

  4. You left out Andrew Miller!

    He’s certainly an improvement over Phil Hughes who was 0-4 in 2008.

  5. You’re the best Dave. You will be even “bester” if I don’t have that and we can trade. =)

  6. I’m stupid. I obviously missed that part and looked back to even find it.

    Kouz is in this set too. I have all his cards from this, but just two (maybe three) of the autos.

  7. There is way too much Yankees bias in this post. 😦

  8. F THE YANKEES!!!!!

  9. I love this set. But all the inserts & SPs meant two hobby boxes and still nowhere near a complete set.

  10. Very nice! I love the Ryan J. Braun card, very nice!

  11. nice cards, i will probibly buy some of theese

  12. I was wondering why you didn’t use Hamilton on your list of top rookies of 2007. 🙂 Then I got to the end of the post. Great pull on the Hamilton!

  13. Thanks for the heads up Dave. I think Ill grab a box or two of this.

  14. I love this set, but after busting open two boxes I only had 172 of the 284 cards in the set. 20 of the first 100 cards still eluded my grasp. I’m a fan of Sportlots for filling sets as well, but this set isn’t listed on the site at all. I also haven’t had the luck you did with autographs. I pulled two different Kory Castos, a Joe Smith and Joaquin Arias. I posted my second box break here.

  15. Mike – SP Rookie Edition is listed on Sportlots – but you have to look under “SP” instead of “Upper Deck”.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

