Amazing card acquisition – Part 1

February 11, 2009 at 12:41 am | Posted in My Cards, Upper Deck | 10 Comments

A few days back, I wrote a post about my collecting strategy for 2009.  One of the things that I mentioned was that I had recently acquired some amazing cards of legendary players that I would be sharing with you on the blog.  Here is the first card that I want to show off:

jackie_robinson_relic

This is a relic card of one of my favorite players of all-time, Jackie Robinson, from 2008 Upper Deck Premier, featuring three pieces of game-used memorabilia from his playing career with the Brooklyn Dodgers.  Jackie retired after the 1956 season, so the memorabilia (either a jersey or pants) is over 50 years old.  The card is numbered 41/50.  Amazingly, I only paid $28.09 for this card on eBay!  That’s right – for the price of a blaster and a couple of packs from Wal Mart, you could add a card like this to your collection.

I am absolutely thrilled to own this card.  I plan to add more relic cards from legendary players to my collection this year.  Cards like these truly do give collectors a “piece of history”.  Additionally, I really like how Upper Deck designed the card.  Instead of coming up with some obscure statistic, like Jackie Robinson’s 7 triples in 1953, they kept it simple by using #42 for the relic windows.  The designers of Topps Sterling and Triple Threads should be required to study this card.  The picture is also much bigger than you’ll find on similar Topps high end cards.

Stay tuned for Part 2 of my recent amazing card acquisitions.  Believe it or not, it gets even better from here…

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow. Spectacular card. It amazes me that vintage jersey cards sell for peanuts. There are not many uniforms left from that time period. It’s not like today where players can wear a new jersey every inning, sometimes a player wore the same uniform all year long back then.

  2. I bought the same card back in December for slightly more than you did. I was thrilled to be able to get a card like this of a legendary player for such a small amount. Congrats on the pickup.

  3. I’m glad you mentioned the size of the photo. That’s a big issue I have with high-end jersey cards. It IS a much bigger photo. And I’d like it to be even bigger.

  4. OMG!!!

  5. This looks very similar to 2007 Upper Deck Premier football – and as far as I’m concerned 2007 Upper Deck Premier football had the BEST looking autograph and jersey cards period. How good? I have 4 different Brett Favre autographs and 7 jersey cards (6 different).

    So while I don’t collect baseball cards, I do agree that this is a very nice card.

  6. I have been digging the vintage too. collect a few Relics of HOF players, but just the old vintage has been a lot of fun.

    nice tip on SP Authentic Rookie edition too.

    $25 for two autos and half a base set and nice inserts – sounds like a pretty good deal.la

  7. That is a great card to add to your collection and for that price you cant go wrong.

  8. Wow man that is a sweet card, I love Jackie Robinson! I can’t believe that something so significant and so a part of history was so cheap…I’ll be keeping my eye out for something like that from now on, can’t wait to see what’s even better!

  9. man, I would kill to hav a card like that

  10. That is some fabulous card.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

