Woo hoo! My Evan Longoria collection hits 100!

February 19, 2009 at 11:45 pm | Posted in My Cards, Rays | 8 Comments

Today is a historic day for my Evan Longoria card collection.  I received my 99th and 100th different Evan Longoria cards in today’s mail.  Both were cards that I recently purchased on eBay, and both are autograph cards, bringing me up to 25 different Longoria autographs – one fourth of my entire collection!

Here are today’s new additions:

longoria_soto_auto

This is the Evan Longoria / Geovany Soto dual autograph from 2008 Bowman Sterling.  It’s serial numbered #257/325.  The card actually looks a lot better than the scan.  For some reason, my scanner has recently been scanning a lot of cards darker than they really are.  This is truly a great card, but it took me a while to decide that I wanted to own it.  I’m not usually a fan of dual autographs featuring a Rays player with a player from another team.  Ultimately, I decided that this card was an exception because it features both 2008 Rookies of the Year.  The selling price has been dropping recently on eBay, so the time was right to pick up a copy of this card.

longoria_2009_topps_auto

This is the very first 2009 card of any player in my collection.  It’s also the first Evan Longoria card that I own that cannot be called a rookie card.  Topps really could’ve chosen a better photo for the card though.  It’s a “Career Best” autograph card, meaning that Longoria’s career best stats are listed on the back of the card.  That’s pretty meaningless since he has only played in one season in the major leagues.

So my 100th Evan Longoria card is also my first 2009 card.  Longoria should appear in every single card release this year, so my collection should be growing very quickly.  It won’t be long before I take the lead in my friendly player collection competition with Mario from Wax Heaven (Andrew Miller) and Bailey from The Nennth Inning (Tim Lincecum).  You can check out the list of every Longoria card that I own here.

On the other hand, it’ll be a long time before my Longoria collection can come close to my Don Mattingly collection, which coincidentally surpassed 1,100 different cards today…

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, that’s awesome. Those are great looking cards too. I can’t believe you already have 25 Longoria autos. I don’t think I have 25 TOTAL autos.

  2. It’s a cool feeling. My Kouz collection is over 100 as well, but he has a full season on Longoria.

  3. Were you the one that bought that Donruss Elite Super today?

  4. Pete – yes I was 🙂

  5. LOL, yeah…um…sorry ’bout that last lil bump in price. The nerve of some people 😉

  6. I just went back and looked. I have 131 Kouzmanoff cards and 47 or autos. It’s kinda sick that he has so many autos and I have 47. Meanwhile I have about three Jeter autos because his are too expensive for me to buy.

  7. Yeah, Jeter/Mattingly co-autographed cards are crazy expensive. One of these days I’ll own one. But for the price of one of those cards, I can buy about 5 or more Mattingly auto cards.

  8. Good job Dave! My Pelfrey collection is only at like 30! He isn’t in many releases anyways.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

