What’s up

April 5, 2009 at 10:49 pm | Posted in Personal, Random | 5 Comments

To all of my readers, I’m sorry for the lack of updates recently.  I’ve been back from vacation for more than a week, but so far my only new post has been a solicitation to get people to join one of my fantasy baseball leagues.  It’s true that I’ve been busy at home and at work, but the biggest reason for my lack of updates recently has been a decline in my interest in the baseball card hobby.  I wish that I could point to a specific reason for this, but really it’s a combination of things.

For one, the release calendar for 2009 is filled with baseball card products that I could care less about.  The only sets that I really care about at this point are Topps Heritage and Allen & Ginter, and I’m less enthused about even those products than I was last year.  Over the last month or so, all that I’ve really cared about is adding to my Evan Longoria collection.  I’m pretty sure that I’m done buying any boxes or packs of cards for the year, with the exception of Allen & Ginter.

Another factor is that my collection is literally a mess right now.  Because I’ve spent so much time blogging, buying new cards, and making trades, I’ve spent virtually no time organizing my cards in the last several months.  So I’m not very interested in making the mess worse right now.  I need to spend a lot of time organizing the cards that I have, and probably getting rid of many cards that I don’t really want.  I’ve started to realize the wisdom of collecting quality and not quantity.

So for the foreseeable future, I’ll only be adding Evan Longoria cards, and some cards of other Rays, to my collection.  I’ve also decided to take down the “Trade Corner” page from my blog.  I don’t want to make any more trades.  I’ve lost most of my interest in building sets, and when people send me Rays cards, it seems like 90% of the time, it’s cards that I already have.  Also, I simply don’t have the time anymore to put together packages of cards to send out to people.  There are about 20 people out there who know this very well because they’ve been waiting a long time to receive cards from me.  I do apologize to everyone who has been waiting to either receive cards from me or to receive responses to emails about card trades.  If you’ve already sent cards to me and you’re waiting to receive something back, or if you’ve already sent me email to propose a trade, I will still send the cards that I owe you.  I don’t want to screw anyone over.  But in the interest of maintaining my sanity, I don’t want to make any new card trades at this point in time.

As the new baseball season starts, I think that you’ll start to see some significant changes to the blog.  Expect to see less content about baseball cards, and more posts about the actual baseball season and fantasy baseball.  I am very excited about the new season, and I’d much rather write about the actual games than about cards right now.  When I do write about cards, it’ll be mostly about Longoria cards that I’ve added to my collection or other Rays.

I’d like to thank everyone out there who reads this blog, especially the people who have kept coming back over the last month even though there’s been very little new content.  I hope that you’ll keep reading the blog in the future, even if I don’t write about cards as much as I have in the past.  I think that it’s important for any blogger to write about the things that they’re most interested in and passionate about, and that’s what I intend to do…

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Welcome back!!!!!
    Good luck this week – I know after the 1st game you are up by 2 but beware my team will come back strong this week and the entire season…. LOL

    I am happy that you will be devoting more time in Baseball and Fantasy baseball. I can’t to see your blog next monday when I beat you…..

    Cub Vic

  2. We’ve all been there from time to time Dave. Staying organized is important and at times a daunting task. Hang in there and ejoy the season.

  3. Dude, write whatever you like. You’ve got a reader here for life! And, I completely agree with this post. I’m in the same boat.

  4. Tell you what man, if you ever change your mind and want to work more on the sets you’re building, I pulled aside a bunch you had on your list. Til then, I’m looking forward to seeing what cards you add to your collection.

  5. I can undersand that and I don’t even trade cards like with you for example iv’e just sent you two packges of cards and let you know that I don’t really expect anything in return bcuz I admire your dedication of building a set and a player collection that is beyond what I could manage to accomplish. so no worries on my end. I just sent those rays and longoria cards as a gift so to speak. No problem at all. Since I started recollecting IV’e got more darn cards then I do supplies or time to properly and to be honest take care of them the way I should so I can understand. Good luck with your project.! Grant old school card buster


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

