dayf is very wise

February 13, 2009 at 12:36 am | Posted in Blogs, My Cards | 7 Comments

I’m sure that many people will agree with the title of this post.  This guy is a very wise man:

dayfaandg

There are many examples of the wisdom of dayf from Cardboard Junkie that I could write about; he’s like an encyclopedia of card collecting information.  But what prompted me to write this was a comment that he wrote for this post about whether or not I should break a hard-to-find 1995 Don Mattingly Stadium Club Virtual Reality Members Only card out of its PSA 10 slab.  Almost everyone who commented on the post advised me to leave the card in the slab, and they convinced me to do so.  But in the back of my mind, I still really wished that I could store the card more easily with my other 1,098 Don Mattingly cards.  Then dayf said this:

“I’m not a big case fan, but when you’re talking about high grade vintage cards and real PSA 10s you might as well keep ‘em in there simply for the protection value. You can throw those suckers up against the wall and dunk ‘em in the toilet and the card will still be reasonably protected. You never know, you might end up finding an ungraded copy of this next week, then you could flip the PSA10.”

I actually thought about dunking a graded card in the toilet to test dayf’s theory, but what I really liked was the idea of holding on to the PSA 10 graded card until I could find a non-graded copy of the card.  But I knew that this would be extremely difficult.  I had been searching eBay for this card almost every day for a year and I hadn’t seen it before I saw the PSA 10.  I figured that it would be a long, long time before I ever saw it again.  I knew that I wouldn’t find one in the next week…

But wouldn’t you know it – sure enough, dayf’s prophecy came true.  He left the comment on January 30, and then on February 5, a non-graded copy of the card showed up on eBay with a “Buy it Now” for only $3.50.  The graded card had cost me $20.  I quickly jumped on the “Buy it Now” and received the card in the mail yesterday.  So now I have the best of both worlds – a non-graded copy of the card that I can easily store with my other Mattingly cards, and I still have the PSA 10 card that I can now sell on eBay.

I’m actually planning to put a bunch of cards up on eBay this coming Sunday night.  It’s been a while since I’ve sold any cards, and I have some stuff sitting around that I really need to unload.  Some of the cards have been featured in posts on this blog, so you’ll have a chance to own actual blog-used cards – now that’s a gimmick to get excited about!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great, more competition. LOL, I’m kidding.

    And I would like to see a YouTube video of some yoyo dropping a slabbed card into the toilet, I think that would be sad, yet funny.

  2. I saw the title of the post and immediately thought – Oh God, what did I do now… I’m glad I jinxed you in a good way 🙂

  3. “Blog-Used Cards” best gimmick of 2009!

  4. Man, you found that card with a BIN of $3.50? Where the heck was I? That 4 corners guy has another PSA 10 he’s selling it for $18 BIN + 4 shipping.

  5. Blog used card does that mean they are true 1 of 1?

  6. http://punkrockpaint.blogspot.com/2009/02/this-just-in.html

    Sorry. Blog Used cards are old news… We broke that story this morning.

    PunkRockPaint: Your Source for Card News!

  7. I second what dayf says. The only cards I had that survived Hurricane Katrina were the PSA cards I had.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

